Living with Homophobia

Jesse Bering, whose essay against Chik-Fil-A president Dan Cathy was especially venomous, has this to say in his defense (and directed to progressive Christians):

Such old, unaddressed wounds, I gather now, never healed properly. Those 1980’s-era memories, along with several more decades of simmering in a toxic religious nation that has viewed me consistently and without apology as wilfully rejecting God by “choosing” not to be attracted to the opposite sex, is the backstory to my “angry rant.” From the time I was nine years old, I have felt, to my very bones, a palpable climate of Christian scorn, loathed not because of what I’ve done, but because of what I unalterably am. If this is not the Christ-like version of Christianity that you adhere to, I believe you, but know that your gentler version has lost the public relations campaign to that of your demonizing evangelical brethren, whose message of intolerance continues to be received much more clearly by the majority of gay youth.

Read it all here. His earlier piece is here.

We’ll be doing a little piece of PR for a “kinder, gentler” Christianity on Sunday on Capitol Square.

Leave a Reply

